Letter to APWU Members of appreciation and endorsement of similar minded candidates 2019

Sharing is caring!

Sisters and Brothers,

The APWU Workers for Change Coalition would like to publicly thank all the leaders around the country for signing our petitions, which allows us to participate in the Democratic process.  We understand that there were some leaders that signed the petitions only for the democratic process, and we sincerely appreciate you for understanding and looking at the bigger picture for our union.

As we move forward and progress through the election season, we hope many of you will come aboard and support our movement.  This movement is about the members in the Plants, Stations, Branches, Maintenance, MVS, VMF, Support Services, Small Offices, Career, PTFs, PSEs and the foundation of this great union, our Retirees.  This movement is to fight for our rights on the workroom floor and in the Senate and House of Representatives.  The APWU Workers for Change Coalition (Movement) is about the most important product the USPS has, which is “YOU,” the postal workers and your family.

The APWU Workers for Change was formed as a coalition of individuals who realized our goals as outlined above are the same.  Unlike a team that is primarily formed for the team’s benefit, the coalition came together as one for the member’s benefit.  Each member of the coalition had made a decision to run independently, based on each person’s belief that the membership deserves better representation, better transparency, better leadership training, better union education, and a return to the union’s core value of “Hours, wages, and working conditions.”

“As candidates from the workroom floor we are aware of many issues that affect our members daily. And when elected we are committed to addressing issues like the following: Our members are working long hours of 12 a day, and seven days a week in many areas of the country, because of short staff and the Postal Service’s refusal to convert PTF’s and PSEs. Many PSEs are working over 2,080 hours a year, which equals a full-time employee.  Our members wages have not kept up with inflation.  APWU members are now largely behind the Letter Carriers (NALC), Mail Handlers (NPMHU), and even Rural Carriers (RCA).”

To add insult to injury, our wages and benefits protection, and the working conditions on the workroom floor, plants, stations, etc. is horrendous.  Members are working in hostile working environments.  Safety concerning to working alone on the DBCS without a partner is in contradiction of the DBCS Step 4 sign off agreed to in August 2016.  The veteran’s preference laws are being violated with no fight from our current National President and Industrial Relations Director.  Legislative matters are not properly addressed, because the Legislative Department is not properly staffed.  With all of the above issues and more that needs to be done, the APWU Workers for Change Coalition commit to bringing our union back from the disastrous state of division, lack of transparency, disrespect, and lack of support for Local and State Leaders.

We believe in the union motto of “An injury to one is an injury to all.”  We believe that all officers are elected leaders that are to be respected.  We believe that all members of this great union are the most important asset to the end.

The APWU Workers for Change Coalition believe many candidates running for office have the same beliefs and will be an asset in their positions working in harmony with the APWU Workers for Change administration for the betterment of all members.  Therefore, we endorse the following candidates in their respected race, and ask those that support APWU Workers for Change to vote to elect the following:

  1. Industrial Relations Director Scott M. Hoffman
  2. Clerk Craft Director Lamont A. Brooks
  3. Clerk Craft Asst. Dir. B Lynn-Pallas Barber
  4. Maintenance Director Idowu Balogun
  5. Maintenance Asst. Director (A) Jimmie Waldon
  6. Maintenance Asst. Director (B) Terry B. Martinez
  7. Retirees Department Director Nancy E. Olumekor
  8. Northeast Region Coordinator Tiffany Foster


We would like to congratulate all of the officers and candidates that were unopposed.  We look forward to working with all to chart a more inclusive, resilient, and transparent future for the APWU.

I would like to take a personal privilege to congratulate the Motor Vehicle Director, Michael O. Foster, and Assistant Motor Vehicle Director, Javier E. Pineres on their re-election.  I had the pleasure of working with these two gentlemen for three (3) years, and I know the passion and dedication they have for MVS.  They are tireless defenders of the craft workers, and we had many successes together working to maintain MVS in its present form.  I salute the MVS members for recognizing this dynamic duo by supporting their successful candidacy for re-election.

As we close out this letter, I am reminded of the bible verse 1 Peter 4:10, which states, “Each of you should use whatever gift you have received to serve others, as faithful stewards of God’s grace in its various forms.”  I believe the APWU Workers for Change are the embodiment of that verse.  We ask for your support, your vote, and your prayers for our union. We have much to do but with your support we will succeed.

In Union Solidarity, We Remain,

APWU Workers For Change Coalition

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.